Kostroma, Lenin street - 150E

Every day except Monday from 11:00 till 18:00

Kostroma is an ancient Russian city which keeps patriarchal character and provincial deliberateness to present day. Here every stone denotes history and tells you much interesting information, if pay attention.

An ancient Kostroma Land is an area under protection. Traditions, holidays, folkways still subsist here. Our Land rememmbers hoary legends, immemorial time, epic heroes and multitudinous folks who have inhabited this land since olden days and, who have left their mark in Russian history, language and national folklore: Merja, Chud, Cheremis, Komi, Perth and so on.

One of the legendary folks dissolved in the abundance of ethnic groups inhabiting Kostroma is Berendey. There is so little in people’s memory about this folk. Maybe the Berendey-hat, a wooden berendey-toy, many living and significant places named after this ancient folk.

In dialects of our Land there are some words from the berendey’s language. What is more, legends and fairy-tales, details of costumes and finery are well preserved.

The project “ Russian Earth… Berendey Land” is taken to this mysterious folk with a cryptic name.

Video reports

View all

г. Кострома, Ленина 150 Е

Ежедневно кроме понедельника с 11.00 до 18.00

Кострома – старинный русский город, где по сей день сохранились патриархальность и провинциальная неспешность. На челе города лежит печать столетий. Здесь каждый камень дышит историей, и, если прислушаться, расскажет много интересного.

Древняя костромская земля – заповедный край. Здесь ещё живы старинные традиции, обряды, праздники. Наша земля ещё помнит преданья старины глубокой, незапамятные времена, былинных героев и многочисленные народы, издревле населявшие эти места, и оставившие глубокий след в русской истории, языке и народном фольклоре: мерь, чудь, черемисы, зыряне, перть и др.

Один из легендарных народов, растворившийся в обилии этносов, населявших костромской край – берендеи. Мало что осталось о них в памяти людской. Разве что шапка-берендейка, деревянная игрушка-берендейка, да множество жилых и знаковых мест, названных именем жившего здесь древнего народа.

В диалектах нашей стороны сохранились слова из языка берендеев, легенды и сказки, а также детали костюма и украшения.

Проект «Сторона русская, берендейская» мы посвящаем этому таинственному народу с загадочным названием.

Показать все